Loving this month: AUGUST

As I try and breathe a bit of new life in to Tomorrow Living, I want to introduce a few features which will crop up on a monthly basis. I know a lot of bloggers do a similar post to this, but I’m a nosy old thing and they’re some of my favourite posts to read. I also like to chat a lot about things which I think are fab so these sorts of posts may stop me from winding up my friends and family who don’t want to hear about what’s just happened in the book I’m currently reading for the 85th time. So, without further ado, here’s what I’ve been enjoying this month.

Reading

With the exception of a module in Latin American Literature during second year (no, I don’t know why I chose to do it either) the last four years of my life have been completely devoid of novels. The only things that I’ve read in a very long time have been journal articles and textbooks. However, since starting work and facing the potential hell that is the rush hour commute, I’ve rediscovered the joy of reading, and I am loving it. It’s like I’ve rediscovered a hobby! I actually look forward to my half an hour train rides to and from Waterloo and I’ve had the pleasure of getting into some rather excellent books recently. My two favourites have been Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – an incredible piece of work that stops you in your tracks and makes you see the world through a different lense, all you will on some remarkably complex and believable characters – and The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, by Catherine Webb. This book is part sci fi, part spy novel, and part romp through the 20th century. It’s not like anything I’ve ever read before and that is in no way a bad thing.

14012035_10154255795300272_1562732450_n

London in the sun

There are a lot of pretty great things about my job – namely that I’m in a sector I love, doing something I genuinely believe matters. However, another things that’s brilliant is the location. I’ve absolutely adored getting to spend time exploring Westminster, especially in the recent (unexpected) sunny weather. I’ve lived on the edge of London my whole life but tended to avoid Westminster because it’s always overloaded with tourists and full of somewhat dull government buildings. Whilst both these things are more or less true, there’s plenty of beautiful places tucked away in Westminster, all steeped in history. Many of the building have been there for centuries and seen many famous faces pass through their doors – below are just two of the views I’ve stumbled across over the last week which have made me reevaluate by feelings towards Westminster.

lawrece of araias
westminster

Being home 

If you’d told me a few months how much I’d be loving living back at home, I’d have laughed at you. After 4 years of travelling and living with friends, I thought moving back home a little bit broke and a little bit exhausted would be a bit frustrating. Turns out, it’s blooming fab. Is there anything better than coming home to a nice house, a comfy bed, fluffy carpets, cats and good conversation?

What have you been loving this month?

You can find a bit more of Tomorrow Living over on my insta, and you can also always find me on over at Twitter – come and say hi!

 

Leave a Reply

