What comes next?

Regardless of what year you do it in, finishing university is a bit of an odd experience. This year, however, felt like a particularly weird one. Not that I’ve had the pleasure of graduating before, but the combination of Brexit, a new PM, a terrifying wave of violence across Europe and the Middle East, and the general feeling of despondency which permeated London during much of June and July made finishing University quite daunting. University was a pleasant bubble, and the real world wasted no time in popping it.


I’ve read a lot of great posts over the past few weeks about what Post-Brexit Britain means – I’ve particularly enjoyed The Zombie Said and Wish Wish Wish’s take on things. Don’t worry guys, this isn’t a post all about Brexit (what needs to be said has been said already, and no one’s opinion on the politics of the matter are going to change any time soon anyway.) This is a post about what comes next.

The Monday after the Brexit vote, I landed my new job. There was something oddly serendipitous about the way in which that huge political event and the firm push towards adulthood that is your first real job combined to give me some passion back. Anyone who has been there will tell you how draining the last few months of uni are – all the joy that you take from the subjects you study gets lost under a pile of dissertation reading and exam preparation. In an odd way, Brexit helped me remember why I love the political side of my degree, and I was almost excited that despite the less than perfect results, at least it got people talking, planning, and yearning for a more open and connected world. My current job also helped reinforce this sense of positivity; much of what I do is about strengthening communities, and building people up to be the best that they can be.

My year abroad made me lucky enough to realise that borders mean rather less than you might assume; culture, and friendships, and opportunity need not be limited by the patch of land you were born on. My life isn’t bound by the borders of the UK, nor by Brexit, nor by any political system which decides to alter these again in the future.

A lot of what we’re being told at the moment is doom and gloom – but I honestly believe that it needs to be. The day after the referendum results, someone on my Facebook timeline asked to be signposted towards jobs, volunteering opportunities or community groups which would help further the causes of togetherness, tolerance and connectivity which underpinned some of the better parts of the Remain campaign. If this attitude, this desire to be better than what we are now becomes the legacy of the fraught nature of British politics over the last few months… well, I don’t reckon that’s so bad after all.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this current affairs ramble – it’s not exactly an indicator of what’s to come on Tomorrow Living, but something that I needed to get out of my system. Believe it or not, the world isn’t ending, and our generation (I hope) will continue to do their utmost to make this world a better, kinder, gentler place to live. Also, please ignore the slightly random image – I work up in Westminster, and given the turmoil that’s been going on there at the moment I thought it was fairly apt to show the home of our political system at it’s best in the summer sunlight.

PS… If you’ve been wondering where I’ve been recently, I’ve been working on writing this little post for TEAR Australia about my InDEEP trip. I’ve also decided to link my blog back to my personal insta, because, well, I like it better – so if you like sunny pictures of London with the occasional blog related post thrown in for good measure, do give me a follow there!  You can also always find me on over at Twitter

Leave a Reply

