Autumn in Review

You might remember that a few months back, I posted about how I plan on being a slightly greener student. It’s now come to the end of my first term back at uni, so I thought I’d give you guys an honest look back at how the last few months went with this in mind. Heads up – it didn’t go too well. However, part of the reason why I have a blog is to keep myself on track and accountable – so if you’re interested in how badly I failed my first attempt at green student living, read on!

In my original post, I divided my goals into four parts, so I will review them each in turn. Some, I did pretty well at – some, I really didn’t.

My first goal was to keep buying solely green beauty products – no nasties, no toxics, no gunk. The shopaholic in me can proudly confirm that I did indeed achieve this, and I’ve loved every minute. My skin has improved SO much, and it’s stopped me being tempted by cheap high street buys. I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to keep this going next term, as I absolutely love finding new brands to try and being a part of the green beauty community.

I also wanted to buy more second hand clothes than new ones. This one failed spectacularly, and the lure of cheap clothes during the first few weeks completely won me over. However, I essentially ran out of money around the end of October/start of November, so was under a self imposed shopping ban for everything other than food (and people’s Christmas presents!) so I guess we can count this as a sort of success, right? Right guys? Okay.

Eating more ethically was also another goal that didn’t go so well. I definitely ate a lot less meat this term, and a few of my housemates are very healthy, ethical eaters, which certainly helped! However, I’m on a pretty well known diet plan at the moment, and tended to have binge days after my weekly weigh in which kind of negated everything I’d worked on during the week. This is the goal I want to improve on most next term – it links in with my 2016 resolutions, too!

I did pretty well at my final goal – reusing! This is such an easy one for students, so I guess that helped; I remembered to take a packed lunch to uni on the days I would be staying on campus for a long period of time, nearly always remembered to take in my water bottle and even occasionally my flask. This term, I want to try and improve this area by limiting myself to buying one hot drink per week on campus, in order to cut down on those cardboard cups and save some money! However, for a lazy and forgetful tea drinker like myself, this will be quite the challenge.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this recap – it’s been a great opportunity for me to remind myself of my goals. This term, eating better food in a more mindful manner is going to be one of my top priorities. I’m going to try and kick this Christmas food funk with a bang, and hope to start reaping the rewards of a healthier, less meaty diet as soon as possible.

I know a lot of people in the ethical/sustainable/green beauty community are GREAT at eating well, and using their food choices to make the world a little bit greener, so if you have any tips, please do share them – I’m all ears!

Follow Tomorrow Living on Bloglovin‘, Twitter and Instagram!

3 thoughts on “Autumn in Review

  1. Hi! I’m in the beginning stages of a greener life too and I can totally relate to your struggle. I’ve found that I’m most successful when I focus on changing one thing at a time and when I’m realistic about what I can achieve.
    I keep wanting to meal plan to cut back on food waste but haven’t committed to anything yet…maybe this week will be different!
    I guess we all just have to find the way we want to start and grow from there.
    I want to start by actually eating what I buy and buying more vegetables. If I can afford organic that week, I’ll buy it. I keep reminding myself this is a journey. I’ll find more and more small changes to make as I go.
    Ah what a long comment huh? I wish you all the luck in picking your starting point!
    – Alex

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Alex! Thanks so much for your comment – I love a good long comment! That sounds like a great way of looking at things (one realistic change at a time) and it’s probably something that I should seek to incorporate more. I guess like you said, it’s super important to remember that this is a journey and whatever we do that’s helpful is great – anything is better than nothing!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Trying to be Ethically Accountable | Tomorrow Living

Leave a comment